YOUR PRESCRIPTION FOR BRAIN WELL-BEING: SOCIALISING!

Growth Mindset is the belief that intelligence can be developed. It is a belief, or an implicit theory, about our capacity to learn and grow. It is not primarily about gaining knowledge, but instead changing our basic level of intelligence or ability. This theory is supported by contemporary neuroscience, which has shown that through learning the brain can develop and strengthen neural connections (called brain plasticity).

Developed by researchers at Stanford University, the concept of growth mindset has gained prominence in the field of education and shows potential to significantly increase students’ achievement and motivation.

I participated in a Growth Mindset workshop at my school to learn how to apply a growth mindset to our own academic work, in order to reach our highest potential!

My recorded presentation is available below.

REFERENCES

Popova, Maria. “Fixed vs. Growth: The Two Basic Mindsets That Shape Our Lives.” Brain Pickings, 16 Feb. 2020, www.brainpickings.org/2014/01/29/carol-dweck-mindset/

“Decades of Scientific Research That Started a Growth Mindset Revolution.” The Growth Mindset – What Is Growth Mindset – Mindset Works, www.mindsetworks.com/science/ 

Dweck, Carol. “What Having a ‘Growth Mindset’ Actually Means.” Harvard Business Review, 13 Jan. 2016, hbr.org/2016/01/what-having-a-growth-mindset-actually-means 

“Carol Dweck: A Summary of The Two Mindsets.” Farnam Street, 13 Nov. 2019, fs.blog/2015/03/carol-dweck-mindset/ 

“Growth Mindset – Definition of What It Is?” Renaissance, www.renaissance.com/edwords/growth-mindset/ 

Morin, Amanda. “Growth Mindset: What You Need to Know.” Growth Mindset: How to Help Kids Develop Growth Mindset, Understood, 22 Oct. 2020, www.understood.org/en/friends-feelings/empowering-your-child/building-on-strengths/growth-mindset 

Biglifejournal.com. “How to Teach Growth Mindset to Kids (The 4-Week Guide).” Big Life Journal, biglifejournal.com/blogs/blog/teach-growth-mindset-kids-activities 

Young, Karen, et al. “Positioning Kids & Teens to Thrive: 11 Practical, Powerful Ways to Build a Growth Mindset.” Hey Sigmund, 17 Aug. 2020, www.heysigmund.com/positioning-kids-teens-thrive-11-practical-powerful-ways-build-growth-mindset/ 

Denworth, Lydia. “Debate Arises over Teaching ‘Growth Mindsets’ to Motivate Students.” Scientific American, Scientific American, 12 Aug. 2019, www.scientificamerican.com/article/debate-arises-over-teaching-growth-mindsets-to-motivate-students/